RSS

333???

19 Oct

Lately, I’ve been absolutely intrigued by simplification of my life. Last year, I was able to travel to the majority of winter events that I worked with my trusty Red Oxx Air Boss and my briefcase. Because I don’t need skis or boots, it was easy for me to call ahead and determine if the venue was accessible by foot. Again, minimalizing, I would pack a pair of YakTraks and would get my daily workout in during the day by hiking to each of the venues. This was also great because it typically takes LESS time to walk to the judges stand than to wait for a snowmobile or other means of transportation!

So have you heard the latest minimalist “fad”? It’s to choose 33 items of clothing (including accessories AND outerwear) and living with those for the next three months. This challenge began on October 1st. I really struggled with starting then because it had been in the high 70’s just hours before and we could have feet of snow by the end of the 30 days in December. When one lives at 9,500′ above sea level, the seasons can, and do, change extremely rapidly.

OK, so I’m going to wait until November 1 to start my 333 with clothing. But until then, I’m working on getting in 30 days on my 29’er (I’m up to 15 and have about 30 days to go).

I’m also looking at getting back to my Buddhist practices, which has been on the back burner for, oh, about 7 years now!

Again, I’m starting small…3 minutes (minimum) for the next 33 days. I love it! I forgot how important being still for part of the day was in my life, so embracing it was not that hard. If I had tried to go with 30 minutes for the next 3 months, I would have given up entirely.

But who knows? I may get there again and I certainly hope that I do. But in the meantime, 3 minutes to focus on my breath is lovely and calming and wonderful!

Namaste!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
