RSS

To do the Continental or Not?

09 Apr
Last January, I was lucky enough to sit next to a woman on a plane to Denver who taught me how to knit Continental instead of American. Actually, it was the German method, which has a little bit of a twist to the yarn and for me, anyway, creates a looser stitch.

Well, I have done 4, count ’em FOUR swatches for this sweater with the results all being the same. I started with US4 needles and the gauge was too big, then switched to a 3, and now a 2. Amazingly, the gauge was approximately the same for ALL of them. So I swatched up using the American method on No 2’s and it’s almost perfect.

I’m not looking forward to throwing yarn for this entire project. I’m going to my knitting circle tonight and see if they have any suggestions.

Let me know if you happen to have any…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
